RADAR: Whitaker

"Nothing matter more than the vibe" became the mantra for the Australian alt-pop trio Whitaker when it came to recording their new EP Wichita. And the vibe, as it turned out, was not in any stuffy studio. Across their native Melbourne, Ryan Meeking, Simon Rabl and Brett Scapin along with engineer and producer Jono Steer and drummer Leigh Fisher searched for random spaces in old halls and various buildings that lent a special ambience to their on-the-fly recordings. The resulting five song collection, the follow up to their self-titled 2012 debut LP, is meticulously constructed and loosely constrained, songs like "Devil On Your Mind" those rare examples of folk/pop melodies worn comfortably, easily and without the need for shout-and-stomp grandstanding. Click through to hear "Hurricane" and stream the EP at Whitaker's Bandcamp page.

Whitaker - "Devil On Your Mind" (from the Wichita EP)

Whitaker - "Hurricane" (from the Wichita EP)