RADAR: The Moth & The Flame

Brandon Robbins (guitar, vocals), Andrew Tolman (ex-Imagine Dragons, drums) and Mark Garbett (keyboards, vocals) are The Moth & The Flame, an L.A.-based indie alt-pop trio set to release their new EP "&" October 29, the successor to their self-titled, self-released 2011 debut. Joey Waronker (Beck, Atoms For Peace) produced the new six-tracker and was an ideal studio guide for the band. Says Tolman: "He's a percussion and production wizard and all his ideas gelled perfectly with our vision." But lest we get caught up (rightly) in the new songs, there's also word that Pater Katis (The National) is on board to begin work on the the trio's next studio longplayer due next year. For now we'll relish "Sorry," the EP's lead track boasting a super-fuzzy bass line, some delightfully wacky (or is that whacky) time signatures and Robbins' skittering falsetto vocal melody. Free download via the NYLON premiere.

The Moth & The Flame - "Sorry" (from the EP &)