Kate Bush - Director's Cut

"As the people here grow colder I turn to my computer" sings reclusive British art-pop pioneer Kate Bush in "Deeper Understanding", the lead song from Director's Cut (May 16, Fish People/EMI) her forthcoming album of eleven reworked tracks from her Sensual World (1989) and The Red Shoes (1993). The computer reference is apt as Bush adds processed vocals and an additional two minutes of instrumental noodling to the track which originally appeared on Sensual World. It's also a peek into the process that went into the reshaping of her past songs. "For some time I have felt that I wanted to revisit tracks from these two albums and that they could benefit from having new life breathed into them", says Bush. "Lots of work had gone into the two original albums and now these songs have another layer of work woven into their fabric. I think of this as a new album".

Of particular note on Directors Cut is the title track from Sensual World, where Bush was able to utilize lyrics adapted from James Joyce's Ulysses, an intent that was earlier nixed by the Joyce estate. Now with new approval, the song has adapted the Joyce text lyrically and has been retitled "Flower of the Mountain." All the songs on the new project feature new Bush vocals and drumwork (from guest Steve Gadd) and three of the tracks have been completely re-recorded including "This Woman's Work", perhaps the best known song here (thanks to the 2002 Maxwell cover version).  Director's Cut will be released in four versions: digitally, on disc with a case-bound book, part of a triple-CD edition that will also include The Sensual World and a newly remastered version of The Red Shoes and on a 2-disc vinyl package.

Artist Site  Facebook

Kate Bush - "Deeper Understanding" (New Version) (from Director's Cut)

The original version:

Director's Cut Track Listing:

  1. Flower Of The Mountain
  2. Song Of Solomon
  3. Lily
  4. Deeper Understanding
  5. The Red Shoes
  6. This Woman's Work
  7. Moments Of Pleasure
  8. Never Be Mine
  9. Top Of The City
  10. And So Is Love
  11. Rubberband Girl