Lily & Madeleine's Self-Titled Debut Due October 29; Listen to "Devil We Know"

The self-titled debut full-length album from acclaimed sisters -- and DC faves -- Lily & Madeleine will be released October 29 on Asthmatic Kitty Records. In advance of the record, the album’s first single, “Devil We Know,” recently premiered at The New York Times T Magazine blog (listen below).

Lily & Madeleine follows the duo’s debut EP, The Weight of the Globe, which was released earlier this year to widespread acclaim. Of the music, American Songwriter asserts, “Their voices can pierce through the chaos of everyday life and actually make you stop what you’re doing, if only for a second, and truly listen,” while praises, “Sister duo Lily and Madeleine almost sound too good to be true—on paper and on our speakers—because they're so young, so stylish, and so talented.” Additionally, in June, premiered the music video for the song “Back To the River” proclaiming, “This isn’t the first time we’ve become enrapt with two sisters harmonizing, but it’s a bell we never tire of hearing ring.”

Produced by Paul Mahern (John Mellencamp, The Fray), the 11-track album was recorded in Bloomington, IN and was written by the sisters and longtime collaborator Kenny Childers (Gentleman Caller). Of the project, Madeleine comments, “The new album reflects on our experiences as we grow as artists; looking both back to the places we’ve visited growing up for inspiration, and looking forward to our hopes for the future. This project really feels like our own, and we’re so grateful to those who helped us create it.”

Born and raised in Indianapolis, the sisters (Lily, age 16 and Madeleine, age 18) originally gained notice when the acoustic video for their song “In the Middle” was featured on the homepage at Reddit. To date, the video has been viewed over 280,000 times. A complete series of acoustic videos can be viewed at the duo’s YouTube page.

Lily & Madeleine track listing:

1. Sounds Like Somewhere
2. Devil We Know
3. Nothing But Time
4. Spirited Away
5. Disappearing Heart
6. And Tonight
7. I’ve Got Freedom
8. Come to Me
9. Goodbye to Anyone
10. Paradise
11. You Got Out