Neko Case: 'The Worse Things Get...' Due September 3; Stream 'Man'

Neko Case has announced the September 3 release of her new album The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You via ANTI-. Lead track is as succinct as the album's title is verbose: stream "Man" below. The new album is described in the press release as Case's "most precise, urgent record to date, marked by a melodic immediacy, a loving embrace of the big rock gesture, and a lyrical frankness..."

From the Press Release: The album was executive-produced by Case and recorded at Wavelab in Tuscon, as well as Portland, Los Angeles and with Phil Palazzolo in Brooklyn. Tucker Martine, Case and Darryl Neudorf mixed the album, with backing by guitarist Paul Rigby, bassist Tom V. Ray, vocalist Kelly Hogan and multi-instrumentalist Jon Rauhouse. Other guests include M. Ward, Steve Turner, Howe Gelb, and members of The New Pornographers, My Morning Jacket, Calexico, Los Lobos and Visqueen. In addition to eleven new songs written by Case, The Worse Things Get features a cover of “Afraid” by Nico.

"My brain wilderness is more dense and dangerous than I thought," says Case. "It was an embarrassing and hilarious march, but I now feel like a more streamlined being. It's a good feeling. Four years of my life took 10 years hostage, then gave me back 12."

Neko Case - "Man" (from The Worse Things Get...)

Track listing for The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You

1. Wild Creatures
2. Night Still Comes
3. Man
4. I’m From Nowhere
5. Bracing for Sunday
6. Nearly Midnight, Honolulu
7. Calling Cards
8. City Swans
9. Afraid
10. Local Girl
11. Where Did I Leave That Fire
12. Ragtime