Texas Rejoins 'The Conversation' with New May 20 Album

Texas, the long-running Scottish band led by frontwoman Sharleen Spiteri, will release its first studio album in eight years -- and eighth overall -- with The Conversation, due May 20 via PIAS. The new project, written and produced by Spiteri and bassist Johnni McElhone will be preceded by a album's title track single on May 13 and boasts contributions from Richard Hawley and Richard Butler of Suede.

The band, who launched in 1989 with the release of their roots-rock debut Southside and the hit single "I Don't Want A Lover", turned to a more alternative pop style in the 90's and sold more than 30 million albums worldwide. The band never became a headline act in the U.S. but was a huge draw in the U.K. and Europe with bestselling albums White On Blonde and The Hush. The band went on hiatus in 2007 and Spiteri released a pair of solo albums: 2008's Melody and a collection of film theme covers The Movie Songbook in 2010.

The Conversation Tracklisting:

  1. The Conversation
  2. Dry Your Eyes
  3. If This Isn’t Real
  4. Detroit City
  5. I Will Always
  6. Talk About Love
  7. Hid From The Light
  8. Be True
  9. Maybe I
  10. Hearts Are Made To Stray
  11. Big World
  12. I Need Time