Aoife O'Donovan's 'Fossils' Due June 11; Stream "Red & White & Blue & Gold"

Former Crooked Still frontwoman Aoife O'Donovan will release her solo debut album Fossils on June 11 via Yep Roc. The new album was produced by Tucker Martine, best known for his work with The Decemberists, Tift Merritt and My Morning Jacket). See the track listing and stream "Red & White & Blue & Gold" below.

From the Press Release: In the decade since she founded the acclaimed progressive string band Crooked Still, she's collaborated with some of the most eminent names across roots, classical, bluegrass, and jazz, from Alison Krauss and Chris Thile to Yo-Yo Ma and Dave Douglas. S

Featuring 10 original songs by O'Donovan and contributions from friends and frequent collaborators like Sam Amidon and Dave Douglas, the album was recorded in Portland, OR, and Aoife's adopted home of New York City. Album opener "Lay My Burden Down" may already be familiar to music fans via Alison Krauss' interpretation of the track on her 2011 album 'Paper Airplane,' but the swirling arrangements and glistening harmonies on 'Fossils' hold many surprises. The intimate "Thursday's Child" and languid, wistful "Red & White & Blue & Gold" are hypnotic in their delicacy, while "Beekeeper" and "Fire Engine" show the forceful power and resolute grace drawn from the deep well of emotion in Aoife's voice.

Hailed as "a vocalist of unerring instinct" by the NY Times, "transcendent" by the Boston Globe, and "the newest darling of the Americana set" by USA Today, O'Donovan will kick off a spring tour that includes dates with The Milk Carton Kids in April, Mountain Stage and Music City Roots in May, and her Bonnaroo debut in June.

'Fossils' Tracklist:
1. Lay My Burden Down
2. Briar Rose
3. Thursday's Child
4. Red & White & Blue & Gold
5. Beekeeper
6. Fire Engine
7. Pearls
8. Glowing Heart
9. I'm Alone
10. Oh, Mama

Aoife O'Donovan - 'Red & White & Blue & Gold' (from Fossils)