She & Him Plan a May 7 Threesome with New 'Volume 3'

She and Him -- aka the indie alt-pop duo of Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward -- will release Volume 3, their third album of original songs, on May 7 via Merge. The new project is desribed as a “bleached-out-in-the-sun pop record” that shines a new light on the band dynamically, including “disco grooves and string arrangements.”

 

From their site: The album’s track list, seen below, includes 14 songs – 11 Deschanel originals and three covers. All songs were produced by M. Ward and were recorded in Los Angeles, Portland, and New York City. Featured guest contributors include NRBQ’s Joey Spampinato, Mike Watt, Tilly and the Wall, Pierre de Reeder from Rilo Kiley, and Tom Hagerman from Devotchka.

Track listing for Volume Three:

1. I’ve Got Your Number, Son
2. Never Wanted Your Love
3. Baby
4. I Could’ve Been Your Girl
5. Turn to White
6. Somebody Sweet to Talk To
7. Something’s Haunting You
8. Together
9. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me
10. Snow Queen
11. Sunday Girl
12. London
13. Shadow of Love
14. Reprise (I Could’ve Been Your Girl)

Tour Dates:

Thu, Jun 13 — Nashville, TN — Ryman Auditorium
Sat, Jun 15 — Grand Prairie, TX — Verizon Wireless @ Grand Prairie
Sun, Jun 16 — Austin, TX — ACL Live at the Moody Theatre
Tue, Jun 18 — Tempe, AZ — Comerica Theatre
Wed, Jun 19 — Las Vegas, NV — The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
Fri, Jun 21 — San Diego, CA — SDSU Open Air Theatre
Sat, Jun 22 — Berkeley, CA — Greek Theatre *
Sun, Jun 23 — Los Angeles, CA — Hollywood Bowl *
Tue, Jun 25 — Salt Lake City, UT — Red Butte Gardens
Thu, Jun 27 — Council Bluffs, IA — Harrah’s Stir Cove
Sat, Jun 29 — Chicago, IL — Aragon Ballroom ^
Mon, Jul 01 — Ann Arbor, MI — Hill Auditorium ^
Wed, Jul 03 — Montreal, QC — Montreal Jazz Festival - Symphony Hall ^
Thu, Jul 04 — Toronto, ON — Toronto Urban Roots Festival ^
Sat, Jul 06 — New York, NY — Summerstage, Central Park ^
Tue, Jul 09 — Philadelphia, PA — Mann Center for Performing Arts ^
Wed, Jul 10 — Boston, MA — Bank of America Pavillion ^
Thu, Jul 11 — Vienna, VA — Filene Center at Wolf Trap ^

* with Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
^ with Camera Obscura