OMD Rewire Their 'English Electric' for New Album April 9

Press Release: OMD, regarded by many as one of the cornerstones of British electronic music, will return to jumpstart and rewire the canon with a brand new album English Electric due April 9. Written, recorded, produced and mixed by OMD - Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys, English Electric is a 12-track letter to technology, space, love and a grand return to form for a band whose 1980 hit "Enola Gay" occupied the world's stage at last year's Olympics Opening Ceremony.

As percolating synth-pop is pulled along at different speeds and executed with needle-sharp finesse, late night electro ballads collide with big sounding club cuts on a record which also features three interlude tracks, including dystopian missive "Please Remain Seated" and "Decimal," which is accompanied by this suitably mechanical TRAILER directed by Henning M. Lederer.

Highlights include the radioactive clatter of "Atomic Ranch" - a song which pokes fun at convention with computerised voices - "Kissing The Machine" - which was composed in collaboration with early influence Kraftwerk member Karl Bartos -"Helen of Troy" - which revives the recurring historical figure motif - and the glacial, uplifting "Metroland," the first single.

As Andy McCluskey says of the album; "The overarching feel tends to be a sense of loss, of melancholia, that things haven't turned out the way you wanted them to, whether it be with technology or personal relationships." The title itself - taken from a British industrial manufacturing company - has further resonance for the pair as locomotive enthusiasts and self-confessed technology geeks.

This is the follow-up to 2010's History of Modern and the band's 12th album to date.

The original four-piece - Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Malcolm Holmes and Martin Cooper - will be reunited once again this spring for a string of must-see shows, which commemorate the band's 35th anniversary. Tour dates will be announced soon.

Full tracklisting for English Electric:

1. Please Remain Seated

2. Metroland

3. Night Café

4. The Future Will Be Silent

5. Helen of Troy

6. Our System

7. Kissing The Machine

8. Decimal

9. Stay With Me

10. Dresden

11. Atomic Ranch

12. Final Song