The Decemberists' "The King Is Dead" Arriving January 11

The Decemberists will release their sixth album The King Is Dead on January 11 18 via Capitol Records. The critically acclaimed Portland, OR alt-pop outfit, led by frontman and songwriter Colin Meloy, are joined by R.E.M.'s Peter Buck on three of the album's ten tracks. Meloy has mentioned that R.E.M. is an inspiration for the album, a claim that is backed up by the album's more straightforward, driving folk/rock sound on the songs like "Down By the Water", "This Is Why We Fight" and "Calamity Sound". The King Is Dead follows up The Decemberists' March 2009 album Hazards of Love. Full track listing below.

 The King Is Dead :

1. Don't Carry It All

2. Calamity Song

3. Rise to Me

4. Rox in the Box

5. January Hymn

6. Down By the Water

7. All Arise!

8. June Hymn

9. This Is Why We Fight

10. Dear Avery